Medical Cannabis Laws in Utah
UTAH MEDICAL CANNABIS ACT
Utah’s medical cannabis act became effective in December of 2018 and the first cannabis pharmacy was opened in March of 2020. A monumental amount of hours were dedicated by innumerable people to get where we are today and even more still are working for Utah patient rights.
Patient Guide to Utah Medicinal Cannabis Laws
Medicinal Cannabis Qualifying Conditions in Utah
Medical Cannabis in Utah is legal with a medical Cannabis Card issued by the state and verified by a Qualified Medical Provider (QMP). Qualifying conditions under the Utah Medical Cannabis Act are listed below:
Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis
Temporary Pain (Temp card)
Medical Cannabis Cards in Utah
When it comes to medical cannabis cards in Utah, there are some guidelines to keep in mind. For starters, a card issued to a Utah resident is valid for six months for both the first issuance and any renewals thereafter. However, after one year has passed since the original card was issued, the recommending medical provider may determine that the patient has stabilized on medical cannabis treatment and approve a one-year renewal period instead.
It’s important to note that if a qualified medical provider (QMP) recommends a medical cannabis card for a patient with acute pain, the card will expire in 30 days, rather than the usual six months. This is because the recommendation is specific to the patient’s medical condition and requires more frequent evaluation and monitoring.
Medical Cannabis Patient Card
- Issued to patients 18 years of age and older
- Valid for six months days upon initial
issuance, then six months upon renewal.
- Card for patients age 18-20 must have card approved by Compassionate Use Board
Provisional Patient Card
- Patients under 18 years of age
- Issued and renews automatically with Guardian Card (no additional fee)
- Requires approval by Compassionate Use Board (CUB) and CUB may approve or deny a minor patients use of a vaping device
Medical Cannabis Caregiver Card
- Card renews automatically with
associated Medical Cannabis Patient or Guardian Card
- Criminal background check
Medical Cannabis Guardian Card
• Issued to parent or guardian of patients
under 18 years of age
• Valid for 60 days upon initial issuance,
then six months upon renewal (with
• Criminal background check
Non-Resident Medical Cannabis Patient Card
• Patients who are not Utah residents or
who have been residents for less than
• Must have a currently valid medical
cannabis card or the equivalent of a
medical cannabis card under the laws of
another state, district, territory,
commonwealth, or insular possession
of the US
• Must have been diagnosed with a
• Issued for no more than two visitation
periods per calendar year of up to 21
calendar days per visitation period
Cannabis Purchase and Posession Limits
In any one 28-day period, a patient may not purchase more than:
Day supply (based on dosing parameters)
Grams of unprocessed cannabis (flower)
Grams of total composite THC (Concentrated)
Transportation and Public Possession of Medical Cannabis
Anytime out of your home, flower must be in container that:
- Contains no more than 10% more than the original packaging weight
- Is in an opaque bag or box that the pharmacy provides. Usually a mylar bag.
- Is labeled with the container’s content, weight, the date of purchase, termination date, and a barcode that provides
information connected to an inventory control system (i.e. sticker label or receipt)
Patients may NOT use, in public view, medical cannabis or a cannabis product
unless there is a case of an emergency medical condition.
In the event of an emergency, cannabis must be in medicinal dosage form.
Driving and Cannabis
Utah law states that an individual may not operate or be in actual physical control of a
motor vehicle within Utah if the individual has any measurable controlled substance or
metabolite of a controlled substance in the person’s body; however, this law does not apply
to an individual who has THC has 11-nor-9 carboxy-THC as the only controlled substance present in the individual’s body. Hydroxy THC and delta 9 are still illegal.
Approached by law enforcement without your card:
• Law enforcement MAY NOT ARREST or take the individual into custody for the sole reason that the
individual is in possession of cannabis
• Law enforcement MAY NOT SEIZE the cannabis, cannabis product, or medical cannabis device
Law enforcement may verify the status
of an individual’s medical cannabis card in UCIJIS.
Utah’s Medical Cannabis program is different than other state’s programs. Here are things that can help you experience a seamless patient journey.
No Taxes | Yes Fees
There’s no taxes on medication. There is, however a $3 fee per pharmacy transaction that goes to the Utah Department of Health to maintain the Cannabis Program.
QMPs Have Limits
A QMP cannot recommend medical cannabis treatment to more
than 275 of the QMP’s patients at one time, or to more than 600 patients if the QMP
is a physician and is certified by the appropriate American medical board in
anesthesiology, neurology, oncology, pain, hospice and palliative medicine, physical
medicine and rehabilitation, rheumatology, endocrinology, psychiatry or if a
licensed business employs or contracts the QMP for the specific purpose of
providing hospice and palliative care.
In-Person Visit Required
Qualified medical provider (QMP) cannot recommend medical cannabis to a patient until they have met with the patient in-person to treat their medical condition and recommend the use of medical cannabis. However, subsequent appointments with the patient can be done via telehealth, which is a convenient way to check in and monitor the patient’s progress.
Limited Medical Provider (LMP)
A limited medical provider (LMP) may do a
medical cannabis recommendation to up to 15 patients without registering with
UDOH and without using the EVS. A limited medical provider is any MD, DO, APRN,
PA, or podiatrist with a controlled substance license.
Medical Cannabis Purchased Outside Utah
Beginning July 1, 2021, all medical cannabis legally possessed in Utah by a Utah medical cannabis cardholder must be purchased from a Utah-licensed medical cannabis pharmacy.
A non-resident patient may use and possess medical cannabis purchased outside of Utah in Utah if the product does not exceed Utah’s
legal dosage limit and is in a legal dosage form.
Use on Pharmacy Property
Use of cannabis on medical cannabis
pharmacy property is prohibited unless there is an emergency.
Entering a Pharmacy
Patients must have a valid card to purchase, but can enter a pharmacy with a visitors pass.