Medicinal Cannabis in Utah
Utah’s medical cannabis act became effective in December of 2018 and the first cannabis pharmacy was opened in March of 2020. A monumental amount of hours were dedicated by innumerable people to get where we are today and even more still are working for Utah patient rights.
Medical Cannabis Patients
Qualified Medical Providers
Medicinal Cannabis Qualifying Conditions in Utah
Medical Cannabis in Utah is legal with a medical Cannabis Card issued by the state and verified by a Qualified Medical Provider (QMP). Qualifying conditions under the Utah Medical Cannabis Act are listed below:
Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis
Not related to pregnancy or cannabis hyperemisis syndrome.
Patient’s life expectancy is less than six months.
Procedures in which pain and recovery is estimated to be 2 weeks or less.
Patient Cannabis Limits
A patient may purchase 113 grams of unprocessed cannabis (flower) and 20 grams of total composite THC in all other medicinal dosage forms over a 30 day period.
Patients may designate no more than two caregivers, who may purchase, transport, or assist the patient in his/her use of medical cannabis in a dosage form.
Frequently Asked Questions
how do i find more information about utah's medical cannabis program?
Please visit https://medicalcannabis.utah.gov/ to find out information on how to become a patient, find a qualified medical provider, locate a pharmacy, and other helpful resources.
what is the electronic verification system (evs)? and how do i register?
In order to become a Utah medical cannabis patient, you must first register the Utah Department of Health’s EVS system. All users must create a Utah ID before registering for a medical cannabis card. Visit www.id.utah.gov to create a Utah ID. Here is a link to a helpful video to guide you through the process: https://idhelp.utah.gov/account-creation.html.
You can find helpful resources on how to access the EVS at https://medicalcannabis.utah.gov/evs-access/.
what are the qualifying medical conditions for medical cannabis?
Qualifying conditions under the Utah Medical Cannabis Act are listed below:
- HIV or acquired immune deficiency syndrome
- Alzheimer’s disease
- amyotrophic lateral sclerosis
- persistent nausea that is not significantly responsive to traditional treatment, except for nausea related to:
- cannabis-induced cyclical vomiting syndrome
- cannabinoid hyperemesis syndrome
- Crohn’s disease or ulcerative colitis
- epilepsy or debilitating seizures
- multiple sclerosis or persistent and debilitating muscle spasms
- post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) that is being treated and monitored by a licensed health therapist (defined here), and that:
- has been diagnosed by a healthcare provider by the Veterans Administration and documented in the patient’s record; or
- has been diagnosed or confirmed by evaluation from a psychiatrist, doctorate psychologist, a doctorate licensed clinical social worker, or a psychiatric APRN
- a terminal illness when the patient’s life expectancy is less than six months
- a condition resulting in the individual receiving hospice care
- a rare condition or disease that affects less than 200,000 individuals in the U.S., as defined in federal law, and that is not adequately managed despite treatment attempts using conventional medications (other than opioids or opiates) or physical interventions
pain lasting longer than two weeks that is not adequately managed, in the qualified medical provider’s opinion, despite treatment attempts using conventional medications other than opioids or opiates or physical interventions
where can i find a medical cannabis pharmacy?
Browse our cannabis pharmacy directory here.
does the utah medical cannabis program accept health insurance?
While medical cannabis is legal in the state of Utah, it is still considered illegal by the federal government. This prevents most medical provider and pharmacies from accepting traditional health insurance which leaves the cost burden on many patients. This is a huge reason why UPC has created a patient subsidy program for those challenged with medical cannabis costs.
how do i locate a medical provider?
The Utah Department of Health has an active list of registered qualified medical providers by county here: https://medicalcannabis.utah.gov/patients/locate-a-provider/. While not all QMPs are listed in this directory, you will be able to find a provider that is conveniently located for you.